AGM 2021

A large crowd attended our recent online AGM. Brian Clarke was re-elected as President to serve a third term as club President. Fiona Mitchell was elected as Chairperson for the coming season and Lynn Armstrong was elected as Honorary Secretary. Treasurer Colin Kingston gave a detailed financial report that showed the club has been very well managed throughout the course of a very difficult year, where little or no rugby was played. The consensus is that despite the challenges the club has emerged from the last year in very good health. The new gym and changing rooms are ready to go. The grounds are in immaculate condition. The playing numbers appear to be as strong as ever and the club are looking forward to an exciting season ahead on all fronts. Shane Farrar was elected club captain with Amy O’Neill elected as Womens Captain.
Brian Clarke outlined his pride in how well the club came through such a difficult year. He thanked the various committees, all the volunteers, the coaches, players and all their families that make up this fantastic club. In his closing remarks he was delighted to announce the news that Wicklow RFC was, as of last night, a Senior Rugby Club.
Last night at the Leinster Branch AGM a vote took place to recognise clubs with teams playing in the Womens AIL as senior clubs. Previously, it was only clubs playing in the mens AIL that were regarded as senior Clubs. This historic decision recognises Wicklow RFC as a Senior Club for the first time. It is an important decision and rightly recognises the growth and importance of womens rugby. Amongst other things, Senior status ensures Wicklow RFC will have representation on the executive committee of the Leinster Branch. Importantly this gives the club a voice at the table that governs both the mens and womens games in the province.
WRFC Executive Committee
President: Brian Clarke
Vice President: Graham Burleigh
Chairperson: Fiona Mitchell
Vice Chairperson: Dave Seymour
Treasurer: Colin Kingston
Director of Rugby: Jason Watson
Honorary Secretary: Lynn Armstrong
Immediate Past President: Bert Nicholson.
Club Captain Shane Farrar
Women’s Captain Amy O’Neill
General Committee
Ann Morrissey. Alan Long, Noel Greene, Steve Clarke, Rhona Younger, Frank Roberts, Greg Shineagm 2021.jpg